Thursday, 21 May 2015

Illustrated map of China

Geography of China
10 Mar 2015 | From Karen of China

China is the most populous and fourth largest country in the world by total area. China is officially known as the People's Republic of China (PRC) and is located in East Asia. It stretches some 5,026 km (3,123 mi) kilometers across the East Asian landmass. China is bordered in the east by the East China Sea, Korea Bay, Yellow Sea, Taiwan Strait, and South China Sea, and shares land borders with a total of 14 countries in the north, south and west. It is bound by Kazakhstan, Mongolia, and Russia in the north; Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan and Philippines in the east; Vietnam, Laos, Burma, Bhutan, and Nepal in the south; and India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Kyrgyzstan in the west. 

Administratively, China is divided into 22 Provinces (shengs), five Autonomous Regions (zizhiqus), four Government-controlled Municipalities (shihs) and two Special Autonomous Regions (Hong Kong and Macau). The country claims sovereignty over Taiwan as its 23rd province.

By virtue of vast geographical extent, China is endowed with diverse landforms which include hills, mountains, high plateaus, deserts, plains, and deltas. Freshwater lakes in the country are mostly found in the middle-lower Yangtze Plain and include Poyang, Dongting, Taihu, and Hongze. The lakes in the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau include Qinghai, Nam Co, and Siling Co. These are saltwater lakes.

No comments:

Post a Comment