Monday, 17 November 2014

Spain's Autonomous Community

10 Oct 2014 | From Llara of Spain

The postcard is from Catalonia, which is in the east coast of Spain. Catalonia is an autonomous community and historic region of Spain encompassing the northeastern provinces of Girona, Barcelona, Tarragona, and Lleida. The autonomous community of Catalonia was established by the statute of autonomy of December 18, 1979. Catalonia is the richest and most highly industrialized part of Spain.

The postcard shows a view of Alt Urgell, a comarca (county) in Catalonia, Spain. Torres d'Alàs is a scattered village in the municipality of Alàs in Alt Urgell. It is located on a hill to the right of the Segre River unlike other towns in the municipality. The church of San Pedro de Torres is located here.

No comments:

Post a Comment