Wednesday, 19 March 2014

The Kazakh capital

Astana, Kazakhstan
6 Sept, 2013 | From Anatoliy Remnev of Kazakhstan

Astana (formerly known as Akmola until 1998; Tselinograd until 1992; and Akmolinsk  until 196) has been the capital of Kazakhstan since 1997, and is the country's second largest city (after Almaty, the former capital). It is located in the north portion of Kazakhstan, within Akmola Province, though administrated separately from the province as a federal city area.

The word Astana in Kazakh literally means Capital.

No comments:

Post a Comment